Question for the Ladies

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Question for the Ladies

Postby noodle » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:17 am

I am in surgical menopause. Dr. McDougall recommends using Pro-Gest in his women's health book. At the health food store they have it, but it has a warning sign above it saying it can cause cancer :eek:

Have any of you experience with this cream? What should I do. I'm new to all this. :)

Sorry for such an embarrasing post.
noodle

Postby serenity » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:25 am

Dr McD specifically recommended it to me to balance estrogen dominance.

It is true that messing with hormones should not be taken lightly, but remember you are in California. We are subjected to warnings about cancer everytime we enter a grocery store or restaurant; it's the law if there is any chance at all of being exposed to a carcinogen. I would recommend doing your homework, being clear about what you hope to achieve, and if you use it, being alert to any indications that you are using too much.

There is a site called hystersisters that has lists of symptoms that occur when estrogen, progesterone, and testosterone levels are too high or too low. You might find it useful.
serenity

Postby McSuegall » Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:43 am

I've been in surgical menopause myself for about 6 years now myself. Fun stuff eh? That Hystersister website was a godsend to me during that time.