Help me get an idea of what to eat

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Help me get an idea of what to eat

Postby huza78 » Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:43 am

Hi I have about 25kg to lose and have so far cut out animal foods and fats. I have been eating fruit for breakfast and then usually for the rest of the day I eat vegies, beans, pasta, bread and rice, a couple of times of the week I might have junk food (I know I shouldn't, but I am craving these foods). I have been putting on weight. I think I eat to much, but for some reason if i don't eat, I get grumpy and bad moods.

Can someone give me some motivation and a bit of a guide on what I am doing wrong? I have read the mcdougall program, I don't have a lot of time to cook elaborate things. I started studying nutrition at a natural health college and I even went to the clinic to ask them about weight loss and the first thing they wanted me to do is eat more animal protein, which I don't want to do.

Can someone give me an idea of what they eat throughout the day to lose weight, and how much excercise they do. I must admit I haven't been doing much exercise. Anyway any help would be much appreciated. I don't have much support from the family, so I have decided to post on here to get some help.
huza78

Postby Faith in DC » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:07 am

The eating of junk because you are craving is what is keeping the craving going. One thing I've noticed if I am full of good food, then the junk food isn't appealing. I really love it. Also you didn't mention fat, This is a no added fat program.

I eat a lot of food too, so it can be done. My lunch is 7 cups of salad veggies, plus a cup of vegetable soup. I have oatmeal, and two seasonal fruits in the morning.