New, achy and sometimes in pain. Is this normal?

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

New, achy and sometimes in pain. Is this normal?

Postby dragonfly_kat » Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:19 am

I am new to the MWL program and have been following it mostly pretty well (not as well as I would like)but have difficulty getting a lot of veggies in my diet. I will, once in a while, eat some baked tortillas with salsa. My question is:

Since removing all the animal products and most oil ( Like I said, sometimes I have the baked tortillas which have some oil but not a lot) I have been so achy and my shoulder is so bad that I sometimes can't move it. Is this normal?

I want to exercise so badly but the pain and achiness in my shoulder is so bad that I can't even do my WATP (walk away the pounds) tape or even walking in place for that matter (due to the natural swinging of my arms).The achiness is in my joints mostly and my back (when I wake up) and it seems like it travels too. One day it is my left knee and then the next it may be my right. My left shoulder is becoming almost a constant ache and pain but also travels to my right shoulder at times and into my neck.

Is this normal to have so much pain and achiness when starting the program? Is this my body's way of releasing the old? There should be no reason for the achiness as far as I can think of, other than my weight, which I have been dealing with for years, but it has been going on almost as long as the diet and seems like it is getting worse.

I am going to be removing ALL oils and making sure that I do NOT eat any processed foods from this point on but wanted to know if anyone else experienced this when changing their diet?