Is it normal to lose so much muscle?

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Is it normal to lose so much muscle?

Postby blackberry » Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:13 pm

Hi,

I have an Omron scale that measures weight and body fat % using the electrical impedance method (scan is from the base of the scale, going through the feet; it is not a full-body scan).

I have been using it for a few months to monitor the progress of my diet. I am on a strict MWL diet with 30 minutes or more of stationary biking 5 days a week at about 60 - 70 % of my maximum heart rate.

What I have found is that I am fairly consistently losing about 65% of my weight from fat, and the rest - 35% - from everything else (muscle and bone). This is basically true over any multi-day, week, or multi-week period, give or take 5%. I realize the absolute body fat % given can be off significantly, but what I am interested in is the relative change. The scale has been very consistent.

In Dr. McDougall's MWL book, he talks about diet and exercise and its impact on muscle loss, saying that moderate exercise increases fat loss and reduces muscle loss. Unfortunately, I did not see any numbers for an idea of what I should expect. Is 1/3rd weight loss from muscle (and maybe bone?) a good amount? Or is that really high and I should be concerned? What can I do to increase the ratio of fat to muscle loss - losing more fat and less muscle?

Details:

Diet: One large Russet potato with onion and ketchup for breakfast and lunch. Optionally up to one pound of raw carrots as a snack. For dinner, either broccoli and potato soup in water, or a large spinach salad with a little bit of corn, peas, beans, and a legal dressing. Optionally one Russet potato after exercise, prepared the same (recent addition). One to three pieces of fruit (usually bananas) throughout the day.