Tofu or seitan

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Tofu or seitan

Postby Planetlady » Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:53 pm

Hi,

Can someone tell me if these products are interchangeable? I've been eating this way for about 1 month now, and the only thing I miss eating is chicken.

Can seitan be flavored using poultry seasoning or something else? I found a recipe for homemade seitan, and thought I might try to make it. Any advice would be appreciated. :D
God always has a Plan B, Praise the Lord
Planetlady

Postby stephanie » Mon Sep 24, 2007 1:41 pm

I'm no expert, since I can't eat soy or gluten anymore :(, but the two are actually quite different. I probably preferred seitan as a "meat substitute" because it's texture seemed more meatlike to me than tofu. If you freeze tofu then thaw it before cooking, it becomes a bit chewier like meat. With good flavors added, both can be really tasty. Unfortunately, I didn't switch to this way of eating much before I found out my intolerances, so don't have a lot of experience with either and am not much help in terms of actual recipes, but I'm sure others will have lots of other advice.
stephanie

Re: Tofu or seitan

Postby VeggieSue » Tue Sep 25, 2007 4:08 am

Planetlady wrote:Can someone tell me if these products are interchangeable?

"Interchangeable" as in a recipe calls for seitan and you want to use tofu, and vice versa? Sometimes.