what to use to thicken gravy?

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

what to use to thicken gravy?

Postby singingbird » Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:16 pm

I've accumulated a number of veggie/vegan cookbooks, and at the moment I'm trying to figure out how to make some of my favorite recipes MWL-friendly. I have an absolutely scrumptious chickpea gravy recipe (Vegan With a Vengeance, anyone?) that I like to have over potatoes or rice...but, of course, it calls for flour mixed with water as a thickener.

Since flour products aren't allowed on MWL...any ideas as to what I could use instead? I've been able to work out the other substitutions needed, but I'm a little stumped on this one. I've never tried a flourless diet before. O_o
singingbird

Postby Letha » Fri Nov 28, 2008 8:20 pm

The MWL book has a recipe for Broccoli Mushroom sauce that uses cornstarch as a thickener. Will cornstarch work?
Letha
Letha

Postby RRC » Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:39 am

I love that chick pea gravy from VWAV. I like to use chick pea flour instead of the wheat flour and it works perfectly!
RRC

Postby xetaprime » Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:15 am

That's the second time I've heard about Chick Pea Flour in one week. I love the idea!
xetaprime

Postby singingbird » Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:48 am

I'm sure cornstarch would work. I'm a little surprised that cornstarch is allowed but flour isn't...it seems like cornstarch would be forbidden on MWL for pretty much the same reasons flour is - it's ground up into a powder, which would probably have all the same effects on metabolism and insulin levels that flour does. Does anyone know the rationale for this?

(Yeah, I'm a geek. I read all the "science behind this diet" chapters several times. LOL)