successful Mcdougallers for over 5 years?

Share your McDougall successes here in order to inspire others.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

successful Mcdougallers for over 5 years?

Postby tanyaj » Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:26 pm

I would really like to hear from people who have been on the Mcdougall diet or a very similar diet for more than 5 yrs. I want to hear from people who lost weight, whose weight loss remained consistent/stable and who has not strayed far from the path for over 5 yrs.

What is it like at family gathering, traveling to other countries and telling people what you are doing? Do you ever binge eat? How often have you slipped up? How do you fight guilt over not doing it perfectly? Thank you and I cannot wait to hear from you.
tanyaj

Re: successful Mcdougallers for over 5 years?

Postby Nutrition4Life001 » Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:34 pm

I've been eating this way for over 25 years - and have become more consistent and dedicated over the years. Occasional slips have left me feeling like yuck and recognizing that the more I eat a whole food - unprocessed, no animal including dairy - the better I feel and the happier I am. My weight has stayed consistent within about 3 pounds for the past 20 + years.

A good way to get away from eating things you don't want is to let people know that you can no longer eat some of the things you used to eat because it doesn't "set well" with you or that you have developed allergies to some of the things that you used to eat and that you feel better leaving them out. You don't want to make other people feel guilty for being garbalogists or eating things that you know are bad for them. It is better to just acknowledge that this is working for you and leave it at that. If they want to know more then you can explain.