newbie, unsure of white potatoes

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

newbie, unsure of white potatoes

Postby Karo » Thu May 28, 2009 8:38 am

I am very new to McDs plan, even though I have been dieting since birth I think. Some how some way I am always a newbie needing information and advice. I am confused about the two plans. I think I want to do the 12 day plan just because I like soy milk and bread. I am already a vegetarian so no problem there.

Anyway I have that diet mentality that white potatoes are BAD.
How did you overcome that and start eating tons of potatoes?
What kind of topping do you use? Is spray butter OK? Probably not, doesn't hurt to ask.

I am 54, 75lbs over weight and lazy as heck.
I am no poster child for a vegetarian diet, which makes me sad.
Hoping McDougall plan can help me. Lord knows I am willing.
Karen
Karo

Re: newbie, unsure of white potatoes

Postby SactoBob » Thu May 28, 2009 8:59 am

Karo wrote:I I think I want to do the 12 day plan just because I like soy milk and bread.

LOL, because everybody, including me, likes soy milk and bread. Those are high calorie density foods that won't help with weight loss. Breads are often loaded with salt too.

Go to Jeff Novick's forum and read up on the topic of Calorie Density. You want to eat a diet that is low in calorie density - the opposite of things like soy products and bread. Since you are mostly interested in weight loss, and need to be, I wold suggest the MWL plan.

To me, MWL is not about weight, but health. It is the healthiest version of the plan because it has the most nutrients for the least calories and the least processed products.