Trouble sticking to MWL plan

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Trouble sticking to MWL plan

Postby library momma » Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:47 am

Hi. I'm not really a newbie to the MWL plan as I first tried it almost 10 years ago, and after becoming a vegan almost 9 years ago, I lost a lot of weight (almost 50 pounds - down to about 125). Even after having a baby, I lost all the weight from the pregnancy in about 2 years (not record time, I know, but still not bad).

The thing I find difficult is sticking to the MWL plan. I'm not doing this to lose a lot of weight, maybe 10 to 15 pounds, but rather because when I eat wheat, chocolate, and drink coffee, I get headaches, IBS, and other funky symptoms that have no link to a real disease other than fibromyalgia (I know as I've had many tests to show me that I'm really healthy - just don't feel so great).

So, I really want to do this but find I can stay on the plan no more than 3 or 4 days without going haywire and eating a bar of chocolate (vegan, of course) or drinking two or three cups of coffee loaded with sugar and almond milk, or eating several pieces of the whole wheat bread I buy for my son (with vegan margarine or almond butter). He's 5, so I can hardly tell him, tough luck, go buy it yourself and eat it outside of the home. Plus, we don't keep a lot of junk food in the house.

I'm beginning to wonder if I'm some kind of food addict. I gained a lot of weight in my 20s but was also on medication and I don't have that issue any more. Other than that, I've never been more than 15 pounds or so overweight.

Can anyone offer suggestions/insight? I think this plan is great and like the kinds of food it prescribes, no problems there.

Thanks,
Andrea
library momma

Postby TominTN » Sat Jun 13, 2009 6:00 am

Hi, Andrea.