Hi I'm new to this... well, sort of!!

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Hi I'm new to this... well, sort of!!

Postby Poppy » Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:44 am

Hi,
I'm almost new to this.. I used to eat very like Mcdougalling a long time ago. Later I stopped being veggie and went back to eating meat after 12 years off. I'm now a lot heavier and don't feel great either! I re-read my McD books this week and I'm hoping that if I start to eat like this again that I will lose the weight and feel a lot better.
I've looked at some of the forum discussions and I find it a bit discouraging as people are still struggling with their weight.. It doesn't always sound like the book! Am I being unrealistic?
I am 49 this Saturday and I've had a hysterectomy, I am on oestrogen patches as I had my ovaries taken out as well, does anyone know whether this is at all likely to help/hinder my progress?
I feel better already and I've only been eating differently for three days, so I do feel that there is hope for me, I'm down about a pound in weight too.. superb!!
Poppy

Postby Carol » Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:03 am

Poppy,

Welcome (back)! I believe you are doing the right thing.

I started in mid January and have lost 12 pounds. I am not doing Mary's Mini nor MWL, so I am eating breads. I joined more for long-term health than I did for weight loss and am considering my "much needed" weight loss a great side benefit to improved health.

All I can say about your estrogen patches is that that is your choice. I am a breast cancer survivor (estrogen-receptor positive), so I have to avoid estrogen. But with the swicth to McD eating, our bodies should be producing a lot less estrogen.....all a very good thing for cancer risk.