Help with Diet Guidelines

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Help with Diet Guidelines

Postby Belindamc » Mon May 05, 2008 11:42 am

Hello,

It may be already posted somewhere on this forum, but I was just wondering about a few things. Is there a calorie range you should aim for eating every day? Can you eat too much rice and starches, no fat grams and still gain weight? Im new to this and was wondering how many fat grams/calories are too many? What would be the appropriate range of fat grams/caloires to aim for each day?

Im just curious, because if there is one person in the whole world who will gain weight on this diet it will probably be me! :-D

Thanks for any help you all can give me.

Bel
Belindamc

Postby auntemmy » Mon May 05, 2008 1:04 pm

Belindamc - Welcome. This is the place to be. I think your calorie range question would be more suited to Jeff Novick's Forum. Give him a try on this subject.

I'm no expert - but I can say this. Whole grains, potatoes, legumes and vegetables and fruits will not make you gain weight. Added oils, too many processed foods and too much sugar and not cutting animal products out of this plan will lead to no weight loss and probably weight gain.

Dr. McDougall has a free pure vegetarian plan on his website, is that the one you want to follow?

For myself I have been doing this since the beginning of the year and I feel great! I gained weight in the beginning because I was doing what I just said not to do in the 2nd paragraph. Lots of people here have had great success with weight loss and I think most have vastly improved health and well being. You are in the right place. Read read read the boards, the newsletter, etc...ask questions. Think of health improvement first and weight loss will follow naturally. Again, Welcome!
~Emmy

What's taters, precious?
Po-ta-toes? Boil 'em. mash 'em, stick 'em in a stew?
auntemmy