Newbie.

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Newbie.

Postby asahmof5 » Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:16 pm

Hello,

I am new to this whole new way at looking at the SAD. I am a diabetic on insulin and am looking forward to getting started. I am only 30 years old and a mother of 5.

I did not grow up overweight and after I had my first child I gained 80 lbs. I never lost the weight through 4 more pregnancies. So now I am 202 lbs.

I plan on starting this new "diet" next Monday. I am breastfeeding and would like any advice that has helped any other nursing mothers.

Ayana
asahmof5

Postby Faith in DC » Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:05 pm

Welcome aboard. Just so you don't feel bad, when I got pregnant I gained 60 and enjoyed every single one of those pounds going on. ugh, but coming off not so fun. That was before discovering Mcd.

You might want to search his website on breastfeeding. I know it is perfectly safe to do, but you do need more calories. Of course, you already knew that. Just keep it balanced. Since you are insulin dependent, you need to work with your doctor some too. BG should really drop.

So why are you waiting? Is it to clean the house out? Try and incorporate all the family into this. Remember it's healthy, it's not a fad diet.
Faith
I'm in training for maintaining
Faith in DC

Thanks.

Postby asahmof5 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:03 pm

Its funny you posted about why I was waiting. I actually did start today. I do feel good too. I thought that I would not be able to survive without meat and dairy. I just need to get my B12 vitamins on Monday (payday).

I need to search the boards for the information on nursing my little one. I know that there are vegans who do it every day.

Ayana
asahmof5

Postby Faith in DC » Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:12 am

That's the way to take the bull by the horns. No risk of the B12 between now and monday. Get the sublingual type.
Faith
Faith in DC