1st day today.....a little nervous

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

1st day today.....a little nervous

Postby monica » Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:26 pm

I'm nervous because 1) i didn't pack very flavorful foods today and 2) i have a totally unsupportive husband.

generally i'm a decent cook, but i packed burritos with red bean paste and tomatoes/cukes/onions in FF italian....it just didn't "do it" for me. even with a little salt and pepper. I'll need to get some flavoring ideas from the site, for sure!

anyway, i decided to McD for better health. been veg over 2 years, but never quite made the move to vegan. my husband is veg, which is great. we do however eat lots of olive oil and soy products (gardenburgers, tofu). so i'm really trying to cut down on oil and processed foods and eat a more pure diet, which McD definitely is. i am 31 and we have a little boy, so i will continue to keep soy products in the house for the babe and husband. which will likely present quite a challenge, but i'm up for it.

anyway, i hope to check in down the road! thanks for reading.
"You can judge a society by the way it treats its animals." - Gandhi
monica

Would love to offer any support

Postby VeganMan » Mon Dec 04, 2006 8:52 pm

Monica -

Let me know if there is anything I can do for you....

Flavorful recipes, exercise, goals, etc.

Happy McDougalling
Vegan Since Sept. 2006
Age 24
205/171/175
VeganMan

Postby monica » Tue Dec 05, 2006 9:35 am

thank you. :-D

i think my biggest concern is salads.....and how to enjoy them without the viniagrettes i like. i know my tastes will probably change (i hope, anyway). but i don't like lemon juice on my salad....so i'll need to find some good options. i am going to scout around for a used mcd cookbook also.
monica

Recipes online

Postby VeganMan » Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:07 am

You can find ample recipes here from the newsletters: