Newbie to forum, I started this on Sunday..

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Newbie to forum, I started this on Sunday..

Postby cowgirrlup » Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:25 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and to the McDougall Weight Loss Diet...

I started the diet on Sunday, so far so good... :)

Anything I should watch out for or ????
cowgirrlup

Postby Love the Lorax » Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:05 pm

Welcome!! I'm just above you in sunny Nevada!

As far as what to watch out for..... whew.... what a loaded question!

Do you have support at home for this change? My hubby has no intention of eating the McDougall way, even though his health is not good. :cry: It is hard to stay true to the program while having SAD foods staring me in the face, but it can be done. If you have support you are definitely off to a good start! The support on these boards can be invaluable also. I don't really post a lot, but reading the posts can really help me to stay true.

Try to always have legal foods available, and not get too hungry. Sounds simple, but usually if I mess up it is because I didn't plan ahead.

How much are you exercising? If you are a couch potato, try to start getting in a few walks a week, just to get the blood moving. It is amazing how much better a person can feel doing just that much! If you already work out a lot, then excellent! Just try not to overdo it right away.

If possible, try to have a few books around that you can turn to - recipe books are fine, but also books that tell you WHY you want to keep eating this way. I have several that I have read countless times, because reading them helps me stay focused on the health benefits of what I am doing.