Triathalon Time

Share your favorite approaches to stay active, fit and healthy.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Triathalon Time

Postby VeganMan » Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:02 pm

I'm getting excited for the upcoming season as it will be my first. Could use some decent weather to get some outdoor biking in.

Is anyone planning on doing any Triathlons this season?
Vegan Since Sept. 2006
Age 24
205/171/175
VeganMan

Postby LJ » Wed May 23, 2007 8:05 am

Little late in responding but I just decided today that I'm going to start training for a triathlon in October. I've never done one before so I'm a little scared. Oh well, my goal is to just finish. Its 6 mile canoeing, 5.5 miles running and 18 miles biking. Boy, I have a long way to go to get there!!!

"The food you put into your body is the single most powerful factor that determines your health and well being." Dr. John A. McDougall, MD
LJ

Postby VeganMan » Wed May 23, 2007 8:47 am

I finished my first Triathlon (sprint) last weekend! It was one of the best experiences of my life. I finished a .33mi swim/11.5mi bike/3mi run in 1hr 9min. I am hooked and am planning on 2 duathlons and 4 triathlons this summer, as well as a number of 5-10k's and a 1/2 marathon.
As a vegan athlete I've never felt better, I recover faster than ever and rarely have any soreness.
Vegan Since Sept. 2006
Age 24
205/171/175
VeganMan

Postby LJ » Wed May 23, 2007 9:45 am

Congrats Veganman!!! I'm sure it is very rewarding to finish a triathlon...especially your first one. I can't wait but am no where near ready. I use to run a lot but can't right now until I drop some more weight. I agree with you on being vegan though. About 8-9 years ago I was a gym rat and a vegan (long story how I got off that track...which I regret) and being vegan is hands-down the best road to fitness. Recovery time wasn't even an issue. Good luck with all your races. Are they all right there in KC or are you doing any travelling?