SLOW results!

Share your favorite approaches to stay active, fit and healthy.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

SLOW results!

Postby daniellechef » Mon May 21, 2007 11:22 pm

I have been hitting the gym HARD for the last 6 months. I had my body fat taken in January and it was 28%. It is now 24%. I know I have made progress, but it is so slow. I work out very hard 3-5 times a week doing 30 minutes of cardio and full body weights. I have been seeing a personal tranier, but he has very little understanding of veganism and feels it is unhealthy. I am getting frustrated. I'd like to get down to 21% so I look really good in my swimsuit, but it just doesn't want to come off. Does anyone have any tips? books? articles? :?
daniellechef

Re: SLOW results!

Postby serenity » Tue May 22, 2007 6:09 am

daniellechef wrote:I have been hitting the gym HARD for the last 6 months. I had my body fat taken in January and it was 28%. It is now 24%. I know I have made progress, but it is so slow. I work out very hard 3-5 times a week doing 30 minutes of cardio and full body weights. I have been seeing a personal tranier, but he has very little understanding of veganism and feels it is unhealthy. I am getting frustrated. I'd like to get down to 21% so I look really good in my swimsuit, but it just doesn't want to come off. Does anyone have any tips? books? articles? :?

I was just watching a video of an old Covert Bailey series that he did about 15 - 20 years ago on PBS. He says that a healthy body fat % for a woman is approximately 22 % (give or take) and that our bodies will not want to go below that. At 24% you are probably reaching the lowest point your body will naturally want to go.

Also, at 24%, I have to believe that you probably already look great in a swimsuit!
serenity

Postby Burgess » Tue May 22, 2007 6:27 am