Running overweight?

Share your favorite approaches to stay active, fit and healthy.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Running overweight?

Postby Fluffy1985 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:07 pm

Hello :)

I was always interested in running, but I was always too heavy for it. Well, at least the doctor told me so.
When I look through the web I find people that started at a heavier weight than I currently have, but my doctor still tells me I am too heavy and just would hurt my knees or ruin my joints.

Are there any experts here who can tell me if starting to run is completely impossible with overweight?
Or are here maybe runners that started overweight on their own??
Fluffy1985

Re: Running overweight?

Postby Yomom » Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:16 pm

I am not an expert but can comment from my personal experience. I was overweight, weighing in the 170's when I ran, ages 40-50, with height 5'7". In my 50s I started following Walk-Run and Run-Walk programs (available free online; just Google it). Now at age 60, I still Walk-Run or Run-Walk, depending on how I feel, or on the heat, and weigh 148 - still losing thanks to much time and continually improving adherence to the McDougall Program. I also walk and hike, but running has always been fun which is why I throw it into the mix. I just try not to overdo it.
Yomom

Postby vgpedlr » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:08 pm

Running puts tremendous mechanical stress on the body- the injury rates for runners are no joke. I believe it's best to be conservative when it comes to running. There are plenty of ways to exercise that do not put so much stress on the body's structure. Low impact exercise and this good diet can enable weight loss, then running can be added later.
vgpedlr

Postby Skip » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:38 pm