Potatoes and inflammation

A place to get your questions answered from McDougall staff dietitian, Jeff Novick, MS, RDN.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Potatoes and inflammation

Postby Calypso » Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:24 pm

I have read that potatoes cause inflammation in the body. Do you find this to be the case?
Calypso

Re: Potatoes and inflammation

Postby JeffN » Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:25 pm

JeffN

Postby Burgess » Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:38 pm

Thanks, Jeff, for the referral.

Calypso, I am a layman, but I can say that for me personally and others I have known, potatoes do not generally cause inflammation problems. To get rid of my many inflammation (-itis) problems ...

http://anti-itisdiet.blogspot.com/2007/ ... ation.html

I eat about 25 pounds of potatoes per week:

http://anti-itisdiet.blogspot.com/2010/ ... i-eat.html

My inflammation problems are gone.
Last edited by Burgess on Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Burgess Laughlin, Star McDougaller
My books: http://www.reasonversusmysticism.com
My health weblog: http://anti-itisdiet.blogspot.com
Burgess

Postby Maer » Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:41 pm

So there is no connection between nightshades and arthritis? or does that apply only to tomatoes? or is it not true at all?

where did this idea come from?

Interesting.

Maer
Maer

Postby JeffN » Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:48 pm

Different question but similar answer

http://www.drmcdougall.com/forums/viewt ... 7&p=127715

viewtopic.php?t=7101

In Health
Jeff
JeffN

Postby sweetfruitlover » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:32 pm

Potatoes do cause inflammation for me, as do tomatoes. It looks like I will probably have to avoid nightshades (or at least those two, and I never ate much of the others), which is such a bummer because I love them!