100% Plant Based or 80/20 ok?

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

100% Plant Based or 80/20 ok?

Postby Raquel1002 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:40 pm

Hi all,
Do most of you aspire to PB eating 100% of the time? I'm fairly new to PB (about a year but inconsistently) and am still trying to find what works best for me. I heard some do '80/20' or '90/10' where you eat a percentage PB and a percentage non PB.

A part of me thinks that eating 100% PB keeps me from experiencing the basic human need of a sense of belonging with others who're indulging especially around the holidays. But this thinking can also justify what I'm starting to think of as harmful behavior. Given I am in terrific physical condition with no weight to lose, I know I can go off plan and bounce back easily. But I'm realizing that the cost (food hangover since I usually over-do it) isn't worth the freedom from remorse and the 'wholesome' feeling I experience from sticking with PB. What's confusing is that sometimes I can go off plan in moderation with only slight negative consequences, whereas other times I can't.

Another reason I'm considering taking the full leap to 100% PB is cuz I have a lot of belly fat that is really uncomfortable! When I was following Medical Medium's (Anthony William) plan a few years ago for about 1 month (to see if helped a chronic 'mystery' illness), I was at the same weight I am now but the belly fat melted away readily and easily!! A flat stomach - felt so good! Not for the look as much as it just felt more physically comfortable, in my clothes and while sitting, standing etc. That's why I think if I did give up the oils, vegan butter/mayo, dark chocolate, corn chips, and coconut ice cream (I weigh it out), perhaps I can get there again. But I'm feeling like another person who posted here; the emotional attachment to theses foods is hard to break!!