low B12 :(

For questions or comments about health, diseases, exercise or weight.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

low B12 :(

Postby Emily1 » Tue Jul 06, 2021 8:23 pm

I just got back results from blood test and was shocked to find my B12 is low. I have always taken 1,000mcg methylcobalin every week. Doctor is against vegan diet (been vegan for a year was vegetarian for 20yrs) and thats why he wanted to test. My results are 149 but should be 200+ and apparently this could be causing me some serious health problems :(
Emily1

Re: low B12 :(

Postby CindyD » Thu Jul 08, 2021 7:57 am

Emily, so sorry to hear that. No chance you could find a doctor who understands a vegan diet? That must be very disheartening that your doctor doesn't approve of your healthy lifestyle.

As for the B12, I am no doctor but my understanding has always been to take it more often than weekly. If not daily, then at least a few times a week?

You probably know this but B12 is a problem for non-vegans, too. Animals don't produce this vitamin, it comes from bacteria in the soil. So, sometimes animals eat it (or animal products are fortified with it), but since we have a somewhat more sterile food environment these days (less dirt in food), it can be a problem for people on any kind of diet.

Some nutritional yeast, plant milk, and other vegan foods are fortified with B12, too.
CindyD

Postby MINNIE » Thu Jul 08, 2021 1:13 pm

Hi Emily.
Is the doctor unwilling to prescribe or discuss B-12 injections or supplements?

You can try supplementing daily on your own, and maybe look for a more informed doctor too.
I get B-12 tests once a year, as my insurance covers this and my primary care recommends it..

Personal Anecdote (not advice).